Member states

The Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS) is a regional organization formed during the breakup of the Soviet Union in 1991.

The CIS has few supranational powers, but aims to be more than a purely symbolic organization, nominally possessing coordinating powers in the realm of trade, finance, lawmaking, and security. Russian is an official language in only four of these states: Russia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, and Kyrgyzstan.

Every CIS country has own rules for MD registration (national state registration for medical devices – UkraineKazakhstanBelarusKyrgyzstan, Russia, Armenia) but for Eurasian Economic Union single market of MD will come into a force in the beginning of 2017.

Cosmetic products fall under Custom Union technical regulation (CU TR 009\2011) with exclusions (some products falls under state registration but despite of medical device state registration system – “state registration for cosmetics” is acting both for Russia and EEU countries. Applicant could make a choice of country of documents submission.